DisclosureHow we check prices

Home/Start Here

Japan Regional Rail Passes 2026: Which One Covers Your Itinerary?

This article contains affiliate links. We have an affiliate partnership with Klook, established September 1, 2026. We have no partnership with the official JR Group websites (westjr.co.jp, jreast.co.jp, japanrailpass.net) or any JR company directly. If you buy through our Klook links, we may earn a commission at no extra cost to you. It does not change what we recommend. Details

For a Kansai-only trip that includes the Haruka airport express, choose the Kansai Area Pass; for Kansai plus Hiroshima and Miyajima, choose the Kansai–Hiroshima Area Pass. If you continue to Hakata or the San'in coast, choose the Sanyo–San'in Area Pass; for Kansai and Hokuriku, choose the Kansai–Hokuriku Area Pass, or the Hokuriku Area Pass if you stay in Hokuriku alone. For the full JR West network, choose the JR West All Area Pass; for Tohoku, Nagano, and Niigata, choose the NEW JR EAST PASS. For travel across regions or a flexible itinerary, consider the nationwide JR Pass. Compare individual fares against the pass price before buying; for a single city using subways and buses, use an IC card.

Key facts

  • Best for Kansai and Hiroshima: Kansai–Hiroshima Area Pass, ¥17,000 for 5 days.4
  • Cheapest starting adult price among the passes compared: Kansai Area Pass, ¥2,800 for 1 day.3
  • Best for the full JR West network: JR West All Area Pass, ¥26,000 for 7 days.7
  • Best for eastern Japan: NEW JR EAST PASS, ¥35,000 for 5 days or ¥50,000 for 10 days.8
  • Haruka reserved-seat coverage confirmed: Kansai Area Pass.3
  • Prices checked: 2026-09-02 for regional passes; 2026-09-01 for the nationwide pass's Klook USD price.345678910

Which one, at a glance

Best forRecommendationWhy
Kansai only, including HarukaKansai Area PassLocal trains and the airport express; no shinkansen.3
Kansai, Hiroshima, and MiyajimaKansai–Hiroshima Area PassShin-Osaka–Hiroshima and the Miyajima ferry.4
Kansai and HokurikuKansai–Hokuriku Area PassThunderbird and Tsuruga–Joetsu-Myoko coverage.5
Western Japan through Hiroshima to HakataSanyo–San'in Area PassShin-Osaka–Hakata and the San'in region.6
The full JR West networkJR West All Area PassSanyo and Hokuriku coverage.7
Tohoku, Nagano, and NiigataNEW JR EAST PASSEastern Japan coverage; no Tokaido Shinkansen.8
Hokuriku without KansaiHokuriku Area PassHokuriku coverage with unreserved seats.9
Travel across regions or a flexible itineraryNationwide JR PassBroader coverage than a single regional pass; compare your fares first.
Only one or two shinkansen legsIndividual ticketsMay cost less than a pass; compare your route total.1
A single city using subways and busesSuica or ICOCAAn IC card suits within-city movement.

Sources: JR West regional pass pages345679, NEW JR EAST PASS official page8, JR West foreigner one-way discount ticket page1. Checked 2026-09-02.

View Kansai Area Pass official page →View Kansai–Hiroshima Area Pass official page →View Kansai–Hokuriku Area Pass official page →View Sanyo–San'in Area Pass official page →View JR West All Area Pass official page →View NEW JR EAST PASS official page →View Hokuriku Area Pass official page →View JR West one-way discount tickets official page →View Kansai Area Pass on Klook (affiliate link) →


A regional rail pass only pays off when your trip stays inside one region of Japan. Cross from Kansai to Tokyo, or mix western and northeastern Japan in the same itinerary, and the nationwide 7-day JR Pass is the more practical answer — and often the cheaper one.

The nationwide pass Exchange Order price rose on October 1, 2026; the Exchange Order price for a 7-day Ordinary adult pass is now ¥53,000, while the online price at japanrailpass.net remains ¥50,000.2 The regional passes in this article carry no equivalent October 1 announcement as of the research date.2

This guide covers seven regional passes, from ¥2,800 for a single day in Kansai to ¥26,000 for seven days across the full JR West network. If you haven't decided yet whether a regional pass is the right call for your route, read Japan Rail Pass 2026: Is It Worth Buying? first.


When the Nationwide Pass Becomes a Loss

The companion article works through the arithmetic in detail, but the short version is this: a 7-day nationwide JR Pass costs ¥50,000 at the current online price. A traveler doing a western Japan loop — Osaka to Hiroshima to Hakata and back — can cover all three shinkansen segments for ¥25,100 using JR West's foreigner discount one-way tickets.1 That is roughly half the pass price, with three days of valid travel to spare. The pass only makes sense when the shinkansen legs on your itinerary, added up, exceed what you are paying for it.

Regional passes lower the floor in two ways. First, they are cheaper outright — the most expensive JR West regional pass is ¥26,000, roughly half the 7-day nationwide price. Second, they match their coverage to specific corridors, so you are not paying for Tohoku coverage when you are only going to Kyoto and Hiroshima. The trade-off is that they only cover part of the network. If your itinerary requires a shinkansen that the pass does not cover, you will have to buy individual tickets for those legs.

October 1, 2026 price change: That increase applies to Exchange Orders purchased through overseas travel agencies for the nationwide JR Pass. The regional pass pages carry the standard notice that prices are subject to change, but no specific October 1 announcement appeared on any of those pages as of the research date.2 Verify current prices on the official pages before purchasing.


Matching Your Itinerary to a Regional Rail Pass

The seven passes below are organized by the itinerary they are designed for. Read the section that matches where you are going, then check the comparison table at the end for a side-by-side view.

Each JR West regional pass covers a fixed shinkansen section: Kansai–Hiroshima to Hiroshima, Kansai–Hokuriku to Okayama and Joetsu-Myoko, Sanyo–San'in and All Area to Hakata, Hokuriku Area to Kurobe-Unazukionsen
Each JR West regional pass covers a fixed shinkansen section: Kansai–Hiroshima to Hiroshima, Kansai–Hokuriku to Okayama and Joetsu-Myoko, Sanyo–San'in and All Area to Hakata, Hokuriku Area to Kurobe-Unazukionsen

Kansai Only: JR West Kansai Area Pass

Who it is for: Travelers spending their entire Japan trip in the Kansai region — Osaka, Kyoto, Kobe, Nara, Himeji, and Wakayama — with no long-distance shinkansen travel planned.

Price and duration:3

DurationAdultChild (ages 6–11)
1 day¥2,800¥1,400
2 days¥4,800¥2,400
3 days¥5,800¥2,900
4 days¥7,000¥3,500

Sources: Kansai Area Pass official page3. Checked 2026-09-02.

What it covers: All JR West local, rapid, and new rapid trains within the Kansai region, plus the Haruka limited-express train (reserved seat included) that runs between Kansai International Airport and Kyoto via Osaka.3

What most travelers miss: The Kansai Area Pass does not include any shinkansen service — not even the Sanyo Shinkansen between Shin-Osaka and Hiroshima.3 If you see a deal on the Kansai pass and assume it covers bullet trains, it does not. It is a local-and-rapid-train pass that happens to include the airport express. For Kansai tourists who will stay within the region and want to arrive by train from Kansai Airport without buying a separate Haruka ticket, the pass pays for itself on day one.

Nozomi and other named shinkansen services: Not applicable. No shinkansen is covered by this pass. The question of which train names are or are not included does not arise; the pass category excludes the shinkansen network entirely.

Where to buy: JR West Kansai Area Pass on Klook — affiliate link: US$17.20 and up.3 Also available at westjr.co.jp.


Kansai to Hiroshima: JR West Kansai–Hiroshima Area Pass

Who it is for: Travelers who will visit Kansai cities and take at least one shinkansen trip to Hiroshima — a common itinerary that involves Osaka, Kyoto, Hiroshima, and the Miyajima island ferry.

Price and duration:4

DurationAdultChild (ages 6–11)
5 days¥17,000¥8,500

Sources: Kansai–Hiroshima Area Pass official page4. Checked 2026-09-02.

What it covers: Sanyo Shinkansen between Shin-Osaka and Hiroshima (reserved seat included); the Haruka, Kuroshio, Konotori, and Kinosaki limited-express trains; JR West local and rapid trains throughout the covered area; and the Miyajima ferry.4

What most travelers miss: The shinkansen coverage ends at Hiroshima — the section from Hiroshima to Hakata is not included in this pass.4 Travelers planning a trip that continues from Hiroshima to Fukuoka should look at the Sanyo–San'in Area Pass instead.

On Nozomi and shinkansen train names: The official page describes coverage by route section (Shin-Osaka to Hiroshima), not by train name. Whether a specific named service such as Nozomi stops at a station on that section is a question for the timetable. Check the pass's covered section on the map, not the train name, to know what you can board.

Klook USD price: US$105.09 for the 5-day pass.4 JR West Kansai–Hiroshima Area Pass on Klook — affiliate link. Also available at westjr.co.jp.


Kansai to the Hokuriku Arch: JR West Kansai–Hokuriku Area Pass

Who it is for: Travelers making the arc between Kansai and the Japan Sea coast — Kyoto or Osaka, across to Fukui, Kanazawa, and Toyama — using the Thunderbird limited-express or the Hokuriku Shinkansen.

Price and duration:5

DurationAdultChild (ages 6–11)
7 days¥19,000¥9,500

Sources: Kansai–Hokuriku Area Pass official page5. Checked 2026-09-02.

What it covers: Hokuriku Shinkansen between Tsuruga and Joetsu-Myoko (reserved seat included); Sanyo Shinkansen between Shin-Osaka and Okayama (reserved seat included); Thunderbird, Haruka, Konotori, and other JR West limited-express trains; and JR West local and rapid trains in the covered area.5

What most travelers miss: The Hokuriku Shinkansen section in this pass runs from Tsuruga to Joetsu-Myoko — it does not extend to Tokyo. The eastern terminus of the pass is Joetsu-Myoko, not Tokyo Station.5 Travelers who want to combine a Hokuriku visit with travel to or from Tokyo on the same shinkansen cannot do that on this pass alone.

On Nozomi and shinkansen train names: Coverage is described by route section, not by train name. The Sanyo Shinkansen section covers only Shin-Osaka to Okayama. Check the covered section on the map to know which services you can use on which segment.

Klook USD price: US$120.99 for the 7-day pass.5 JR West Kansai–Hokuriku Area Pass on Klook — affiliate link. Also available at westjr.co.jp.


Hiroshima, Hakata, and Beyond: JR West Sanyo–San'in Area Pass

Who it is for: Travelers going deeper into western Japan — Osaka or Kobe through Hiroshima all the way to Hakata (Fukuoka), or taking a detour through the San'in coast (Tottori, Shimane).

Price and duration:6

DurationAdultChild (ages 6–11)
7 days¥23,000¥11,500

Sources: Sanyo–San'in Area Pass official page6. Checked 2026-09-02.

What it covers: Sanyo Shinkansen between Shin-Osaka and Hakata (reserved seat included); Yakumo and other San'in limited-express trains; JR West local and rapid trains throughout the covered area; and the Miyajima ferry.6

What most travelers miss: The shinkansen section ends at Hakata — the Kyushu Shinkansen continuing south is not included.6 Travelers who want to continue to Kumamoto or Kagoshima will need a separate JR Kyushu pass or individual tickets for those legs. This pass covers western Honshu and the San'in region, not Kyushu.

Klook USD price: US$114.69 for the 7-day pass. This product appears on Klook as the Kansai San'in Area Pass. JR West Kansai San'in Area Pass on Klook — affiliate link. Also available at westjr.co.jp.


All of JR West: JR West All Area Pass

Who it is for: Travelers who will move across the full JR West network — from the Kansai region through Hiroshima, the San'in coast, the Hokuriku corridor, and into Fukuoka — within a 7-day window.

Price and duration:7

DurationAdultChild (ages 6–11)
7 days¥26,000¥13,000

Sources: JR West All Area Pass official page7. Checked 2026-09-02.

What it covers: Sanyo Shinkansen between Shin-Osaka and Hakata; Hokuriku Shinkansen between Tsuruga and Joetsu-Myoko; Haruka, Thunderbird, Kuroshio, Konotori, Yakumo, and other JR West limited-express trains; all JR West local and rapid lines; sections of IR Ishikawa Railway, Ainokaze Toyama Railway, and HappiLine Fukui within specified conditions; and the Miyajima ferry.7

What most travelers miss: The pass does not include the Tokaido Shinkansen (Shin-Osaka to Tokyo, operated by JR Central) or the Kyushu Shinkansen (Hakata to Kagoshima-Chuo, operated by JR Kyushu).7 This is a JR West pass — its eastern edge is Shin-Osaka and its southern edge is Hakata. Travelers who want shinkansen coverage to Tokyo or deeper into Kyushu are outside the pass's geography.

Klook USD price: US$162.35 and up for the 7-day pass.7 JR West All Area Pass on Klook — affiliate link. Also available at westjr.co.jp.


Eastern Japan and Tohoku: NEW JR EAST PASS

Who it is for: Travelers focusing on northeastern Japan — Tohoku cities such as Sendai, Aomori, and Akita, as well as the mountain destinations of Nagano, Niigata, and the ski country along the Joetsu and Hokuriku Shinkansen corridors.

Price and duration:8

DurationAdultChild (ages 6–11)
5 days¥35,000¥17,500
10 days¥50,000¥25,000

Sources: NEW JR EAST PASS official page8. Checked 2026-09-02.

What it covers: All JR East shinkansen lines — Tohoku, Joetsu, Hokuriku (Takasaki to Joetsu-Myoko), Yamagata, Akita, and the Hokkaido Shinkansen — plus Tokyo Monorail, Aoimori Railway, IGR Iwate Galaxy Railway, Sanriku Railway, Hokuetsu Express, and the Echigo TOKImeki Railway's Naoetsu to Arai section.8

What most travelers miss: The pass explicitly states that the Tokaido Shinkansen cannot be used.8 There is no shinkansen coverage south of Tokyo toward Nagoya, Kyoto, or Osaka on this pass. A traveler who lands in Tokyo, goes north to Tohoku, and then wants to travel by shinkansen to Kyoto will need a separate ticket for the Tokyo–Kyoto leg. The JR East Pass covers eastern Japan; once you cross into JR Central or JR West territory, you are outside it.

Where to buy: The JR East Pass is sold on the official JR East booking site (eki-net.com). No Klook product page for this pass was found during research. Buy through eki-net.com or through a JR East sales outlet.


Hokuriku Only: JR West Hokuriku Area Pass

Who it is for: Travelers visiting only the Hokuriku region — Fukui, Kanazawa, and Toyama — without starting from or returning to Kansai on JR trains.

Price and duration:9

DurationAdultChild (ages 6–11)
4 days¥7,000¥3,500

Sources: Hokuriku Area Pass official page9. Checked 2026-09-02.

What it covers: Hokuriku Shinkansen between Tsuruga and Kurobe-Unazukionsen (unreserved seat), limited-express trains (unreserved seat) within the Hokuriku area, and local and rapid trains. It also includes specific sections of IR Ishikawa Railway (Kanazawa to Tsubata, with a requirement to ride the entire section without leaving the train), Ainokaze Toyama Railway (Toyama to Takaoka, same condition), and HappiLine Fukui (Echizen-Hanabatake to Fukui only).9

What most travelers miss: Unlike the other JR West passes above, the Hokuriku Area Pass does not include reserved seats on the shinkansen — only unreserved.9 Travelers who want a guaranteed seat for every leg should book reserved seats separately or consider the Kansai–Hokuriku Area Pass instead, which includes reserved seats and also covers Kansai.

Where to buy: The Hokuriku Area Pass is sold at westjr.co.jp. No Klook product page for this pass was found during research. Buy through the JR West official site.


Regional Pass Quick Comparison

PassDaysAdult PriceShinkansenKlook USD
Kansai Area Pass1–4¥2,800–¥7,000NoneUS$17.20+3
Kansai–Hiroshima Area Pass5¥17,000Shin-Osaka to Hiroshima4US$105.094
Kansai–Hokuriku Area Pass7¥19,000Shin-Osaka to Okayama; Tsuruga to Joetsu-Myoko5US$120.995
Sanyo–San'in Area Pass7¥23,000Shin-Osaka to Hakata6US$114.696
JR West All Area Pass7¥26,000Sanyo + Hokuriku lines7US$162.35+7
NEW JR EAST PASS5 or 10¥35,000 / ¥50,000All JR East lines8Official site only8
Hokuriku Area Pass4¥7,000Tsuruga to Kurobe-Unazukionsen (unreserved)9Official site only9
Nationwide JR Pass (7-day)7¥50,000Most JR lines10US$318.5510

Sources: JR West regional pass pages and Klook listings345679, NEW JR EAST PASS official page8. Checked 2026-09-02. Nationwide JR Pass Klook USD price: Klook JR Whole Japan Rail Pass product page10. Checked 2026-09-01.

Child fares are half the adult price for all JR passes listed. Prices confirmed as of September 2, 2026.


Who Should Still Buy the Nationwide JR Pass

Three situations favor the nationwide 7-day JR Pass (¥50,000) over any regional pass.

Your itinerary crosses two JR companies' networks. If you are traveling Tokyo to Osaka to Hiroshima to Kyushu — crossing JR East, JR Central, and JR West territory — a single regional pass cannot cover the whole journey. You would need multiple regional passes or individual tickets for the segments that fall outside any one pass. The nationwide pass is the only document that covers the full JR network with a single purchase.

You don't know yet which parts of Japan you will visit. Regional passes require you to commit to a geographic area. If your itinerary is flexible or likely to change after you arrive, the nationwide pass removes the need to match a pass to a pre-set plan. Open-ended travel is the classic case where the nationwide pass's flexibility is worth the extra cost.

You are traveling with two children and two adults. The nationwide pass's child fare is ¥25,000 — half the adult price — for seven days of coverage across the entire country. A family group with substantial shinkansen travel across multiple regions may find that the national pass covers more and requires fewer separate purchases than a combination of regional options.

If none of those conditions apply to your trip, run the specific-route calculation from the companion article against the regional pass price for your area. Regional passes are designed to win that calculation for single-region itineraries.


Who Should Not Buy a Regional Rail Pass

Travelers spending their trip in a single city using subways and buses. Regional rail passes cover JR trains, not the municipal subway networks or private rail lines that handle most urban commuting in Japan's cities. An IC card (Suica or ICOCA) is the right tool for within-city movement; a regional rail pass does not replace it.

Travelers taking only one or two shinkansen legs. If you are making a single day trip from Osaka to Hiroshima and back, individual tickets will often cost less than a multi-day pass. Use the foreigner discount one-way shinkansen ticket where it applies and calculate before committing to a pass. The companion article Japan Rail Pass 2026: Is It Worth Buying? shows a worked example using confirmed fare data.

Travelers whose planned routes fall outside the pass's covered section. Each of the regional passes has a firm geographic boundary. If your destination is east of Joetsu-Myoko on the Hokuriku Shinkansen, or south of Hakata on the Kyushu network, you will need a separate product for those legs. Buying a regional pass and then needing individual tickets for every segment outside the boundary is more expensive and more complicated than buying the nationwide pass from the start.


How to Buy a Regional Rail Pass Before You Arrive

Most of the JR West passes described above are available for purchase on Klook before your departure. You buy online, and the pass or voucher is issued for use in Japan. The JR East Pass is sold through eki-net.com, the JR East online booking platform. The JR West Hokuriku Area Pass is available at westjr.co.jp.

Eligibility. These passes are marketed to international visitors to Japan. The same entry status requirements that apply to the nationwide JR Pass are likely relevant here as well — see the eligibility section in Japan Rail Pass 2026: Is It Worth Buying? for a full explanation of what "Temporary Visitor" status means and how the entry stamp requirement works. Verify the eligibility conditions on the pass's official product page before purchasing.

Purchasing timeline. There is no physical document to mail for most of these passes when purchased through Klook; confirm the delivery format and exchange procedure on the Klook product page at the time of purchase, as formats can vary. If you are buying through the JR West or JR East official websites, the relevant site will describe the collection process. In all cases, verify whether you need to exchange the purchase confirmation for a physical pass at a station counter in Japan before your first journey.

One practical note on the Klook purchase process. Klook's pass products for Japan use a 30-day cookie and last-click attribution.11 If you research the pass on one browser session and return to purchase later, use the affiliate link in this article at the time of purchase to ensure the session is active. The minimum payout threshold on Klook's affiliate program is US$150, which does not affect the price you pay — it is an internal accounting term.11


What Alternatives to Consider

Alternative 1: The nationwide JR Pass. For itineraries that span multiple JR companies' networks — particularly any route that includes both eastern and western Japan — the nationwide pass removes the need to puzzle out which segments fall within which regional pass's boundary. It costs more, but it simplifies a complex itinerary. The 7-day Ordinary nationwide pass is US$318.55 on Klook as of 2026-09-01.10 See How to Buy a Japan Rail Pass Online for the full purchase guide.

Alternative 2: Individual point-to-point tickets. For short itineraries with one or two shinkansen legs, buying individual tickets at a JR station or through the relevant JR company's website may cost less than any pass. JR West offers a foreigner discount one-way shinkansen ticket — confirmed prices include Osaka to Hiroshima ¥7,900, Hiroshima to Hakata ¥6,300, and Osaka to Hakata ¥10,900.1 These require Temporary Visitor status. If you only need one or two of those segments, the math often favors buying individual tickets over committing to a regional pass.


Summary

Regional rail passes make sense when your Japan trip is concentrated in one area and the individual fares on your shinkansen segments add up to more than the pass price. The JR West Kansai Area Pass (from ¥2,800 per day) is the right choice for Kansai-only travelers who want to include the airport Haruka express. The Kansai–Hiroshima pass (¥17,000 for 5 days) covers the most popular western Japan circuit including Miyajima. The Sanyo–San'in pass (¥23,000 for 7 days) extends that circuit to Hakata and the San'in coast. The Kansai–Hokuriku pass (¥19,000 for 7 days) is designed for the arc between Kyoto and the Japan Sea. For eastern Japan — Tohoku, Nagano, Niigata — the JR East Pass (from ¥35,000 for 5 days) covers those routes.

None of these passes is a universal solution. Each has a geographic boundary, and each requires you to know in advance whether your destinations fall within it. Read the official product page for your chosen pass before purchasing, check the covered shinkansen section on the map rather than relying on train names, and run the individual-fare comparison described in the companion article before committing.

Prices in this article were confirmed from primary sources on September 2, 2026. Verify current prices on the relevant official pages before purchasing.



What we verified — and what we couldn't

What we verified

  • The Kansai Area Pass starts at ¥2,800 for 1 day and includes Haruka reserved seats but no shinkansen.3
  • The Kansai–Hiroshima Area Pass costs ¥17,000 for 5 days and covers Shin-Osaka to Hiroshima.4
  • The Sanyo–San'in Area Pass costs ¥23,000 for 7 days and covers Shin-Osaka to Hakata; the Kyushu Shinkansen is excluded.6
  • The NEW JR EAST PASS costs ¥35,000 for 5 days or ¥50,000 for 10 days and excludes the Tokaido Shinkansen.8
  • The Hokuriku Area Pass costs ¥7,000 for 4 days and includes unreserved seats on its covered shinkansen section.9

What we couldn't

The following items were not stated in the source materials used for this article. Do not treat them as established facts; verify directly with the relevant provider before purchasing.

  • Klook's commission rate for regional rail passes. We could not find an official statement confirming whether a publicly disclosed commission percentage applies to Klook's regional rail passes. The Klook affiliate agreement (§3.2) states commission rates are set by separate written agreement. No percentage figure was published on any accessible page. This does not affect the price readers pay.
  • Whether any JR West or JR East regional pass will change price on October 1, 2026. We could not find an official statement confirming whether any JR West or JR East regional pass will change price on October 1, 2026. Each official pass page states only that prices are subject to change. No specific announcement of a regional pass price increase on October 1 was found during research.
  • Nozomi train availability on Kansai–Hiroshima and Sanyo–San'in passes. We could not find an official statement confirming whether Nozomi services are available at stations within the covered sections of the Kansai–Hiroshima and Sanyo–San'in passes. The JR West pages describe shinkansen coverage by route section, not by train name. Whether Nozomi services stop at the stations within the covered section depends on the current timetable. Check the pass's covered section map and the timetable for your dates.
  • Exact eligibility requirements (entry status) for each regional pass. We could not find an official statement confirming whether each regional pass requires Temporary Visitor entry status. The facts memo did not include a direct quote of eligibility language from each regional pass page. The passes are marketed to international visitors; the likely requirement is Temporary Visitor entry status, consistent with the nationwide JR Pass. Verify on the official product page before purchasing.
  • Klook delivery format and exchange procedure for regional passes. We could not find an official statement confirming whether regional passes purchased through Klook use an e-voucher, QR code, or physical document, or require collection or exchange in Japan. The Klook product pages were confirmed for USD price and activity ID, but the delivery format (e-voucher, QR code, or physical document) and the Japan-side collection process were not stated in the research materials. Check the product page at time of purchase.
  • JR East Pass availability on Klook. We could not find an official statement confirming whether the NEW JR EAST PASS is available on Klook. No Klook product page for the NEW JR EAST PASS was found during research. Sold through eki-net.com or JR East sales offices.
  • JR West Hokuriku Area Pass availability on Klook. We could not find an official statement confirming whether the standalone JR West Hokuriku Area Pass is available on Klook. No Klook product page for the standalone Hokuriku Area Pass was found during research. Sold through westjr.co.jp.

Sources

  1. Foreigner one-way discount shinkansen ticket prices from westjr.co.jp/travel-information/en/tickets-passes/oneway/sanyo-shinkansen/. Confirmed in the companion article Japan Rail Pass 2026: Is It Worth Buying? (/articles/jr-pass-worth-it/): Osaka–Hiroshima ¥7,900; Hiroshima–Hakata ¥6,300; Osaka–Hakata ¥10,900. Requires Temporary Visitor status. ↩
  2. JR West regional pass pages (westjr.co.jp/travel-information/en/tickets-passes/jrwest-rail-pass/) and JR East Pass page (jreast.co.jp/en/multi/pass/eastpass.html). Each page states "Prices are subject to change." No specific October 1, 2026 date-based increase was stated on any regional pass page as of September 2, 2026. The October 1 price change confirmed in companion articles applies to Exchange Orders for the nationwide JR Pass through overseas agencies and has now taken effect (re-verified 2026-10-01). ↩
  3. JR West Kansai Area Pass official page, westjr.co.jp/travel-information/en/tickets-passes/jrwest-rail-pass/kansai/. Verified September 2, 2026. Adult prices: 1 day ¥2,800, 2 days ¥4,800, 3 days ¥5,800, 4 days ¥7,000. Child fares half price. Included services: Haruka (reserved seat), rapid and local trains in the Kansai area. Excludes all shinkansen and all other limited-express trains except Haruka. Klook activity ID 3276; confirmed USD start price US$17.20. ↩
  4. JR West Kansai–Hiroshima Area Pass official page, westjr.co.jp/travel-information/en/tickets-passes/jrwest-rail-pass/kansai_hiroshima/. Verified September 2, 2026. Adult: ¥17,000 (5 days). Child: ¥8,500. Sanyo Shinkansen covered section: Shin-Osaka to Hiroshima (reserved seat). Excluded: Hiroshima to Hakata section of the Sanyo Shinkansen; Tokaido Shinkansen; Kyushu Shinkansen. Miyajima ferry included. Klook activity ID 3278; confirmed USD price US$105.09. ↩
  5. JR West Kansai–Hokuriku Area Pass official page, westjr.co.jp/travel-information/en/tickets-passes/jrwest-rail-pass/kansai_hokuriku/. Verified September 2, 2026. Adult: ¥19,000 (7 days). Child: ¥9,500. Hokuriku Shinkansen covered section: Tsuruga to Joetsu-Myoko (reserved seat). Sanyo Shinkansen covered section: Shin-Osaka to Okayama (reserved seat). Excluded: Hokuriku Shinkansen from Joetsu-Myoko to Tokyo; Tokaido Shinkansen from Okayama east to Tokyo. Thunderbird and Haruka limited-express trains included (reserved seat). Klook activity ID 2771; confirmed USD price US$120.99. ↩
  6. JR West Sanyo–San'in Area Pass official page, westjr.co.jp/travel-information/en/tickets-passes/jrwest-rail-pass/sanyo_sanin/. Verified September 2, 2026. Adult: ¥23,000 (7 days). Child: ¥11,500. Sanyo Shinkansen covered section: Shin-Osaka to Hakata (reserved seat). Excluded: Tokaido Shinkansen; Kyushu Shinkansen (Hakata to Kagoshima-Chuo). Miyajima ferry included. Klook activity ID 111946 (listed as "JR West Kansai San'in Area Pass"); confirmed USD price US$114.69. ↩
  7. JR West All Area Pass official page, westjr.co.jp/travel-information/en/tickets-passes/jrwest-rail-pass/all/. Verified September 2, 2026. Adult: ¥26,000 (7 days). Child: ¥13,000. Covers all JR West shinkansen (Shin-Osaka to Hakata on Sanyo; Tsuruga to Joetsu-Myoko on Hokuriku), all JR West limited-express trains (Haruka, Thunderbird, Kuroshio, Konotori, Yakumo, and others), all JR West local and rapid lines, Miyajima ferry, and specified sections of IR Ishikawa Railway, Ainokaze Toyama Railway, and HappiLine Fukui. Excluded: Tokaido Shinkansen (Shin-Osaka to Tokyo); Kyushu Shinkansen (Hakata to Kagoshima-Chuo). Klook activity ID 70766; confirmed USD start price US$162.35. ↩
  8. NEW JR EAST PASS official page, jreast.co.jp/en/multi/pass/eastpass.html. Verified September 2, 2026. Adult: ¥35,000 (5 days), ¥50,000 (10 days). Child: ¥17,500 (5 days), ¥25,000 (10 days). Coverage: all JR East shinkansen (Tohoku, Joetsu, Hokuriku from Takasaki to Joetsu-Myoko, Yamagata, Akita, Hokkaido), plus Tokyo Monorail, Aoimori Railway, IGR Iwate Galaxy Railway, Sanriku Railway, Hokuetsu Express, and Echigo TOKImeki Railway (Naoetsu–Arai section). Explicitly excluded: Tokaido Shinkansen. No Klook product confirmed for this pass; sold through eki-net.com. ↩
  9. JR West Hokuriku Area Pass official page, westjr.co.jp/travel-information/en/tickets-passes/jrwest-rail-pass/hokuriku/. Verified September 2, 2026. Adult: ¥7,000 (4 days). Child: ¥3,500. Hokuriku Shinkansen covered section: Tsuruga to Kurobe-Unazukionsen (unreserved seat only). Limited-express trains included (unreserved seat). IR Ishikawa Railway (Kanazawa to Tsubata, through-ride required), Ainokaze Toyama Railway (Toyama to Takaoka, through-ride required), HappiLine Fukui (Echizen-Hanabatake to Fukui only). Excluded: Hokuriku Shinkansen from Kurobe-Unazukionsen to Tokyo. No Klook product confirmed; sold through westjr.co.jp. ↩
  10. Klook product page for JR Whole Japan Rail Pass (nationwide 7-day Ordinary), klook.com/en-US/activity/1420-7-day-whole-japan-rail-pass-jr-pass/. Confirmed price US$318.55 as of 2026-09-01 per companion article How to Buy a Japan Rail Pass Online (/articles/jr-pass-how-to-buy/). ↩
  11. Klook affiliate program terms, affiliate.klook.com/help/terms_conditions. Verified September 1, 2026. Cookie period: 30 days (general activities). Attribution: last click. Minimum payout: US$150. Payment: USD, issued three months after confirmed sale. Commission rate: stated as "separate written agreement" in §3.2; not publicly disclosed. ↩

Where this fits in your trip

The other decisions in this part of your trip, in the order they come up. Before you pay for anything, read Booking Resources: it lists the one thing to check about each company we link to.