
Best Monthly SIM Card for Foreigners Living in Japan: Sakura Mobile vs IIJmio vs Rakuten Mobile Compared (2026)
This article contains affiliate links. We have an affiliate partnership with Sakura Mobile. We have no partnership with IIJmio or Rakuten Mobile. If you sign up through our Sakura Mobile link, we may earn a commission at no extra cost to you, and it does not affect what we recommend. Details
For a foreign resident who needs the application, contract, and support in English — or who must pay with a card issued outside Japan — Sakura Mobile is the clearest option: it explicitly confirms acceptance of internationally issued cards and runs its entire contract in English. IIJmio Gigaplan is the lowest-cost choice (¥850 for 2 GB or ¥950 for 5 GB voice, campaign pricing through November 4, 2026) for residents who can complete a Japanese-language application and hold a Japan-issued credit card. Rakuten Mobile fits residents whose data use varies month to month or who call domestic numbers frequently — the plan costs ¥1,078 when data stays under 3 GB and scales to ¥3,278 for unlimited, with unlimited domestic calls via the Rakuten Link app (0570 and similar numbers excluded) — but phone support is Japanese only, and certain residence cards issued on or after June 14, 2026 require in-store application.
Key facts
- Best for English application and international card: Sakura Mobile
- Cheapest voice plan: IIJmio ¥850 / 2 GB (campaign through November 4, 2026)
- Cheapest unlimited data: Rakuten Mobile ¥3,278 / unlimited
- International card confirmed accepted: Sakura Mobile
- Cancellation fee: ¥0 (Sakura Mobile, IIJmio); up to ¥1,078 within first year (Rakuten Mobile)
- Prices checked: 2026-08-31
Which one, at a glance
| Best for | Recommendation | Why |
|---|---|---|
| English application and international card | Sakura Mobile | Explicitly accepts foreign-issued cards; entire contract in English |
| Lowest monthly cost (Japanese application OK) | IIJmio Gigaplan | ¥850 / 2 GB or ¥950 / 5 GB, campaign through November 4, 2026 |
| Variable data use or frequent domestic calls | Rakuten Mobile | Tiered ¥1,078–¥3,278; unlimited domestic calls via Rakuten Link app (0570 and similar numbers excluded) |
Sakura Mobile home page (affiliate link) — monthly plans are in the top menu →View IIJmio's guide for foreign residents →View Rakuten Mobile Saikyo Plan →
Switching to a monthly SIM in Japan as a foreign resident comes down to one question before price: can your current card pay the bill? Sakura Mobile explicitly accepts internationally issued cards; IIJmio requires a credit card but does not confirm whether overseas-issued cards work; Rakuten Mobile lists card payment with no mention of international cards. This guide compares monthly cost, cancellation terms, and application requirements — including rules found only in Japanese-language pages. All prices and policies verified from each carrier's official website, August 31, 2026.
How to Compare Monthly SIM Plans in Japan
This guide evaluates three plans against five criteria drawn from official contract terms — no speed tests, no user reviews:
- Actual monthly cost — plan price plus initial fee, amortized across expected months of use
- Minimum commitment and early-exit cost — when can you cancel, and what does leaving cost?
- Cancellation-month billing — all three plans here charge a full month with no daily proration; the mechanism differs by carrier
- Standard price after any promotional period — IIJmio's campaign pricing runs through November 4, 2026; the standard price after that date is not confirmed in this article
- Application requirements — which ID is accepted, whether a Japan-issued credit card is required, and whether the entire application can be completed in English
If you just arrived in Japan without a bank account or a locally issued credit card, see Getting Online in Japan from Day One for options that work before those are in place.
Which Plan Fits Your Situation
The table below uses official contract terms only. ◎ = well matched, ○ = workable with a condition, △ = a confirmed limitation or an unconfirmed requirement.
| Your situation | Sakura Mobile | IIJmio Gigaplan | Rakuten Mobile |
|---|---|---|---|
| No Japan-issued card; internationally issued card | ◎ Confirmed accepted | △ Required; overseas cards not confirmed on official pages | △ Required; overseas cards not confirmed on official pages |
| Application, contract, and support must be in English | ◎ Fully in English | △ English support via X; application and terms are in Japanese only | △ Partial UI translation; phone support is Japanese only |
| Lowest monthly price (5 GB voice) | △ ¥3,278 | ◎ ¥950 campaign (through Nov 4, 2026) | ○ ¥1,078 if data use stays under 3 GB every month |
| Plan to stay under one year | ○ No cancellation fee; cancel by the 25th for same-month exit | ◎ No fee; minimum period is the end of the calendar month service starts | △ Up to ¥1,078 fee if leaving within one year of line activation |
| Two or more lines for a family or household | △ Separate contracts; no multi-line discount confirmed | ◎ ¥100/line discount for two or more lines; data sharing within one account | ○ ¥0 contract fee for up to four lines |
| Consistent heavy data use (over 20 GB monthly) | ○ 30 GB for ¥4,378 | ○ 35 GB for ¥2,400 (campaign) | ◎ Unlimited for ¥3,278 |
| Frequent domestic phone calls | △ ¥16.5 per 30 seconds | △ Per-call billing | ◎ Unlimited via Rakuten Link app (0570 numbers excluded) |
| Residence card issued June 14, 2026 or later (specific card type) | ◎ No restriction confirmed | ◎ No restriction confirmed | △ In-store application only; smartphone NFC not available |
Sources: Sakura Mobile payment page, IIJmio foreigner guide (iijmio.jp/hdc/visitors/en/), Rakuten Mobile identity verification page — all verified August 31, 2026.
What English-Language Comparisons Consistently Miss
All three carriers offer English web content, but their Japanese pages contain terms the English versions omit. Every comparison article reviewed for this piece used the English pages alone — which creates a gap between what you read before signing and what the contract says.
IIJmio: cancellation billing is not prorated
IIJmio's pricing page carries a Japanese-language footnote — absent from the English foreigner guide — stating that the monthly charge for the cancellation month runs through the end of that month regardless of when you submit the request.iij-spec Cancel on the third day of a month and you pay for the full month. There is no daily proration. The minimum commitment period is the end of the calendar month in which service starts; the same no-proration rule applies to any later cancellation month.
Japan's Telecommunications Business Law provides an eight-day cooling-off period for voice SIM and voice eSIM contracts. IIJmio's Japanese-language cancellation page details what it waives and what it does not.iij-cancel Waived: the cancellation adjustment fee and the SIM issuance fee. Not waived: the initial package fee (¥3,300 tax inclusive), the monthly service charge for the period used, and voice call charges. Cooling-off does not make the first month free.
Rakuten Mobile: identity verification rules differ for foreign nationals
Rakuten Mobile's identity verification page is in Japanese only — no English translation exists.raku-verify It states that foreign nationals require different identity documents and cannot use postal delivery for verification. In Japan, receiving a registered letter at your address is a standard way to confirm a new mobile contract; Rakuten Mobile does not offer this to foreign nationals. Verification must be done via smartphone NFC or in person at a Rakuten Mobile Shop.
A further restriction applies from 2026: if your residence card was issued on or after June 14, 2026 and is of a specific card type, smartphone NFC verification is also unavailable. In-store application is the only option.
Rakuten Mobile: phone support is in Japanese only
Rakuten Mobile's website has a language switch covering English, Chinese, Korean, and Vietnamese, but phone support is in Japanese only.raku-flow A separate notice adds that certain features and messages, including customer service, may not be available in the selected language.raku-proc
Sakura Mobile: cancellation timing and the final bill
Sakura Mobile's English FAQ covers the cancellation rules directly.sm-cancel Cancel by the 25th and service ends at the end of that month; cancel on the 26th or later and the contract runs through the end of the following month. Either way, the final month is billed in full — no proration. Because Sakura Mobile is postpaid, the final invoice arrives the month after service ends.

Signing up without a Japanese credit card
Most foreign residents arriving with a new residence card do not yet hold a Japanese bank account or a Japan-issued credit card.
Sakura Mobile explicitly confirms acceptance of internationally issued cards: "most credit and debit cards, including international ones."sm-payment
IIJmio requires a credit card and provides no alternative payment method. Whether cards issued outside Japan are accepted is not stated on any official page.iij-en
Rakuten Mobile also accepts bank transfer and certain debit cards.raku-pay Bank transfer requires a Japanese bank account; the debit card option covers Rakuten Bank debit and select domestically issued cards. Whether internationally issued cards are accepted is not confirmed.
Rakuten Mobile: cancellation fee and cooling-off
Rakuten Mobile's cancellation terms appear on Japanese-language pages with no English equivalent.raku-commission Canceling within one year of the line activation date incurs an administrative fee of up to ¥1,078 (tax inclusive); after the one-year mark, no fee applies.
The cancellation month is billed by actual data use that month, at standard tiered rates, with no daily proration.raku-cancel-guide
Japan's cooling-off period applies: eight days from the contract start date (day one), written application required. Cooling-off waives the administrative fee but not usage charges or device costs incurred before the cancellation date.raku-ict
Sakura Mobile Monthly SIM
Sakura Mobile was built for international residents in Japan. The contract is written in English — the terms of service state that "The original version of this Agreement is in the English language" — and the application process, pricing pages, and customer support are all conducted in English.sm-termssm-monthly The network uses NTT Docomo's 5G and 4G infrastructure.sm-price
Pricing
All prices are tax inclusive. Verified August 31, 2026.sm-price
Voice + Data plans (SIM or eSIM)
| Data | Monthly (tax incl.) |
|---|---|
| 5 GB | ¥3,278 |
| 15 GB | ¥3,828 |
| 30 GB | ¥4,378 |
Sources: sakuramobile.jp/monthly/price/. Checked 2026-08-31.
Data-only plans (SIM or eSIM)
| Data | Monthly (tax incl.) |
|---|---|
| 5 GB | ¥2,728 |
| 15 GB | ¥3,278 |
| 30 GB | ¥3,828 |
Sources: sakuramobile.jp/monthly/price/. Checked 2026-08-31.
Plans above 30 GB are listed on the pricing page but were not confirmed for this article. The activation fee is ¥5,500 (tax inclusive) for all plans.sm-price Students can save ¥1,100 using the coupon code "studentdiscount" at checkout.sm-price
Domestic calls on Voice+Data plans: ¥16.5 per 30 seconds. International calls start at ¥34.1 per 30 seconds, or ¥16.5 per 30 seconds via the Sakura Dial prefix (0077-502-010).sm-price All plans include tethering and data rollover.sm-monthly
Payment and identity documents
Credit cards accepted include Visa, Mastercard, Discover, JCB, American Express, and Diners Club — including cards issued outside Japan — and no Japanese bank account is required.sm-payment The cash alternative is Smart Pit (Lawson, FamilyMart, or MiniStop, payable 1st–10th of each month), which requires a ¥20,000 deposit for Voice+Data plans.sm-payment Overdue Smart Pit payments incur a ¥500 late fee.sm-payment
Accepted identity documents: passport, residence card, special permanent resident certificate, Japanese driver's license, My Number Card, health insurance card, or a utility bill combined with a passport.sm-id The name on your document must match your application; the document must be valid with a legible photo.
How to apply
- Open sakuramobile.jp (affiliate link — opens the Sakura Mobile home page; monthly SIM plans are in the top navigation).
- Select Voice+Data or Data-only, then choose a data tier.
- Choose eSIM (QR code by email, usable almost immediately) or physical SIM (available for same-day pickup at the office or airport if arranged in advance; delivery times within Japan are not stated on the official page).sm-pickup
- Upload your identity document.
- Enter your payment details.
Pickup at affiliated offices on certain US military installations requires completing the application at least three days before collection.sm-pickup
Who Sakura Mobile monthly SIM suits
Foreign residents who want an English application, English contract terms, and English customer support. Those paying with a card issued outside Japan — Sakura Mobile explicitly confirms acceptance of international cards. Students who qualify for the ¥1,100 activation fee discount.
Who should skip Sakura Mobile
Residents focused on monthly cost: the lowest Voice+Data plan starts at ¥3,278, while IIJmio offers voice plans from ¥850. Those who call Japanese numbers frequently: per-call billing at ¥16.5 per 30 seconds adds up where Rakuten Mobile's Rakuten Link covers domestic calls at no extra charge. Those prioritizing large data at the lowest price: IIJmio's Data eSIM rates are lower.
IIJmio Gigaplan
IIJmio is one of Japan's largest MVNOs. The Gigaplan is the only plan among these three that lets you choose between two backbone networks: Type D (NTT Docomo) and Type A (au). Both cost the same monthly, but Type D supports data-only eSIM as a standalone option while Type A does not.iij-spec
Pricing
Campaign prices, valid through November 4, 2026. All prices tax inclusive. Verified August 31, 2026.iij-spec
Voice SIM — campaign pricing (single line)
| Data | Monthly (tax incl.) |
|---|---|
| 2 GB | ¥850 |
| 5 GB | ¥950 |
| 10 GB | ¥1,400 |
| 15 GB | ¥1,600 |
| 25 GB | ¥2,000 |
| 35 GB | ¥2,400 |
| 45 GB | ¥3,300 |
| 55 GB | ¥3,900 |
Sources: iijmio.jp/hdc/spec/. Checked 2026-08-31.
Adding a second line under the same mioID reduces the monthly fee by ¥100 per line.iij-spec The 5 GB plan includes an additional campaign discount of up to ¥400 per month for up to three months. The 25 GB plan includes a discount of up to ¥1,100 per month for up to six months, with data increased to 30 GB during the discount period.iij-spec
Data eSIM (Type D / NTT Docomo only) — standard pricing
| Data | Monthly (tax incl.) |
|---|---|
| 2 GB | ¥440 |
| 5 GB | ¥650 |
| 10 GB | ¥1,050 |
| 15 GB | ¥1,320 |
| 25 GB | ¥1,650 |
Sources: iijmio.jp/hdc/spec/. Checked 2026-08-31.
Additional data eSIM tiers (35 GB, 45 GB, 55 GB) are listed on the official page but omitted here for length; consult iijmio.jp/hdc/spec/ directly.iij-spec
The initial signup fee is ¥3,300 (tax inclusive). During the campaign period, the data eSIM initial fee is halved.iij-spec The cancellation adjustment fee is ¥0.iij-spec First-month billing is prorated from the activation date.iij-spec
Application requirements
A Japanese residence address and Japanese contact phone number are required. Payment must be by credit card in the applicant's name; whether foreign-issued cards are accepted is not confirmed on the official page.iij-en Applicants under 18 cannot open a voice SIM or voice eSIM account.iij-spec
The application and terms are in Japanese only — the English foreigner page acknowledges this directly: "Terms and Conditions of IIJmio's Services (only in Japanese)."iij-en Customer support is available in English via @IIJmio on X, but the signup process cannot be completed in English.
Who should skip IIJmio
Residents who need an English-language application or English phone support. Anyone relying on a foreign-issued credit card (unconfirmed whether it works). Applicants under 18 for voice plans. Residents who need to cancel and expect a prorated final-month bill — the full month is charged regardless of when you cancel. Anyone who wants a data-only eSIM on the au network — data eSIM is Type D (docomo) only.
Rakuten Mobile Saikyo Plan
Rakuten Mobile runs its own proprietary network rather than leasing capacity from a larger carrier.
Pricing
All prices are tax inclusive. Verified August 31, 2026.raku-plan
| Data used in month | Monthly (tax incl.) | With Saikyo Family Discount |
|---|---|---|
| Up to 3 GB | ¥1,078 | ¥968 |
| 3 GB to 20 GB | ¥2,178 | ¥2,068 |
| Over 20 GB (unlimited) | ¥3,278 | ¥3,168 |
Sources: network.mobile.rakuten.co.jp/fee/saikyo-plan/. Checked 2026-08-31.
The contract fee is ¥0 for the first four lines; ¥3,850 (tax inclusive) from the fifth.raku-plan Cancellation terms, including the early-termination fee, are detailed in the "What English-Language Comparisons Consistently Miss" section above.
Domestic calls are unlimited through the Rakuten Link app at no extra charge.raku-plan Calls through the standard phone dialer cost ¥22 per 30 seconds.raku-plan 0570 numbers — used by many businesses, government offices, and hospitals — are not covered by Rakuten Link and incur per-minute charges.raku-plan International roaming includes 2 GB per month across more than 100 countries.raku-plan
Payment options include credit card, debit card, bank transfer, Rakuten Points, and Rakuten Pay balance.raku-pay Whether foreign-issued cards are accepted is not confirmed on the official page.
Who should skip Rakuten Mobile
Foreign nationals whose residence card was issued on or after June 14, 2026 (specific type): online application is unavailable; in-store only. All foreign nationals: postal delivery is not available for verification; NFC or in-store only. Residents who need English customer service: phone support is Japanese only, and not all features are available in translated pages. Residents who call 0570 or similar numbers frequently: those calls fall outside Rakuten Link and are billed at ¥22 per 30 seconds. Residents who have neither a Japanese bank account nor a domestically issued credit card: bank transfer requires a local account, and whether internationally issued cards are accepted is unconfirmed.
Japan Monthly SIM Comparison at a Glance
Prices and information verified August 31, 2026. Check each carrier's official site before applying, as prices and campaign conditions may change.
| Feature | Sakura Mobile | IIJmio Gigaplan | Rakuten Mobile Saikyo |
|---|---|---|---|
| Lowest voice plan (tax incl.) | ¥3,278 / 5 GB | ¥850 / 2 GB (campaign) | ¥1,078 / up to 3 GB used |
| Activation / initial fee | ¥5,500 | ¥3,300 + ¥433 SIM fee | ¥0 (up to 4 lines) |
| Cancellation fee | ¥0 (confirmed) | ¥0 (confirmed) | Up to ¥1,078 within 1 yr; ¥0 after (Japanese page) |
| Network | NTT Docomo | docomo (Type D) or au (Type A) | Rakuten proprietary |
| 5G support | Yes | Yes | Unconfirmed |
| eSIM available | Yes | Yes (data eSIM: Type D only) | Yes |
| Application language | English | Japanese only | Japanese (partial UI translation) |
| Customer support language | English (full) | English (X/Twitter), Japanese, Chinese | Japanese (phone); English UI partial |
| Foreign-issued credit card | Accepted | Unconfirmed | Unconfirmed |
| Bank account required | No | No | No |
| Domestic calls | ¥16.5 / 30 sec | Billed separately | Unlimited (Rakuten Link); ¥22/30sec via OS dialer |
| International roaming | Via Sakura Dial prefix | Not confirmed | 2 GB/month, 100+ countries |
| Data rollover | Yes | Yes | Not confirmed |
| Cooling-off period | 8 days (from contract start) | 8 days (from contract notification) | 8 days (from contract start); written application (Japanese page) |
| Cancellation month billing | Full month; no proration | Full month; no proration (Japanese footnote only) | Tiered by data used; no daily proration (Japanese page) |
| Minimum period | Unconfirmed (no specific months stated) | End of starting month | No specific months stated; 1-yr threshold for fee (Japanese page) |
| Foreign national ID restrictions | Standard verification; any valid ID accepted | Standard verification | Different documents required; no postal delivery; specific 2026 card types: in-store only |
Sources: sakuramobile.jp/monthly/price/, sakuramobile.jp/info/payment/, iijmio.jp/hdc/spec/, network.mobile.rakuten.co.jp/fee/saikyo-plan/, network.mobile.rakuten.co.jp/guide/verify/, network.mobile.rakuten.co.jp/guide/commission/. Checked 2026-08-31.
12-Month Cost at the Same Data Tier

The table projects costs for one year using a 5 GB voice plan. IIJmio's campaign price is used throughout; this campaign is valid through November 4, 2026, and the standard price after that date is not confirmed. Rakuten Mobile assumes data use stays under 3 GB every month, which is not guaranteed.
| Sakura Mobile (5 GB voice) | IIJmio (5 GB voice, campaign) | Rakuten Mobile (≤3 GB each month) | |
|---|---|---|---|
| Initial / setup fee | ¥5,500 | ¥3,733 (package ¥3,300 + SIM fee ¥433) | ¥0 |
| Monthly fee | ¥3,278 | ¥950 (campaign through Nov 4, 2026) | ¥1,078 |
| 12 × monthly | ¥39,336 | ¥11,400 | ¥12,936 |
| Approximate year-1 total | ¥44,836 | ¥15,133 | ¥12,936 |
| If you leave within year 1 | ¥0 exit fee | ¥0 exit fee | Up to ¥1,078 exit fee |
| Final-month billing | Full month; no proration | Full month; no proration | Tiered by data used; no daily proration |
Sources: sakuramobile.jp/monthly/price/, iijmio.jp/hdc/spec/, network.mobile.rakuten.co.jp/fee/saikyo-plan/, network.mobile.rakuten.co.jp/guide/commission/. Checked 2026-08-31.
IIJmio prorates the first month from the activation date; the table uses 12 full months for consistency. Sakura Mobile first-month proration is not confirmed on official pages. Rakuten Mobile final-month billing is by data-use tier, not daily proration.
Which Plan: Decision Tree
Do you have a credit card that can pay the monthly bill?
├─ NO
│ └─ Sakura Mobile — Smart Pit cash option available
│ (Lawson / FamilyMart / MiniStop; ¥20,000 deposit required for voice plans)
└─ YES
└─ Is your card issued in Japan?
├─ NO (internationally issued card)
│ └─ Sakura Mobile — the only carrier here confirmed to accept
│ international cards
└─ YES
└─ Do you need the application, contract, and support in English?
├─ YES → Sakura Mobile
└─ NO
└─ Is the lowest possible monthly price the priority?
├─ YES → IIJmio Gigaplan
│ (¥950 / 5 GB, campaign through Nov 4, 2026;
│ Japanese application required)
└─ NO
└─ Does your data use vary month to month, or do you
call domestic numbers frequently?
├─ YES → Rakuten Mobile
│ (tiered ¥1,078–¥3,278; unlimited domestic
│ calls via Rakuten Link; 0570 excluded)
└─ NO → IIJmio Gigaplan
(fixed monthly cost; docomo or au
network choice)
Next Step: Confirm the Current Terms
Before signing up, verify the plan's prices and conditions on the carrier's official page — both may have changed since this was written.
If Sakura Mobile fits, confirm document requirements, choose between eSIM and physical SIM, and check residence card eligibility on their monthly SIM page. Check Sakura Mobile monthly SIM plans (affiliate link — opens the Sakura Mobile home page; monthly SIM plans are in the top navigation).
We have no affiliate partnership with IIJmio or Rakuten Mobile. Their relevant pages: IIJmio foreigner guide and Rakuten Mobile Saikyo Plan page.
Once your mobile SIM is in place, home internet is the next decision for most residents. Home Internet in Japan for Foreigners covers fixed-line options available to foreign residents, including document and credit history requirements.
What we verified — and what we couldn't
What we verified
- Sakura Mobile explicitly accepts internationally issued credit and debit cards, confirmed on the payment page sm-payment
- IIJmio charges the full cancellation month regardless of when you cancel — stated in a Japanese-language footnote on the pricing page, absent from the English foreigner guide iij-spec
- Rakuten Mobile requires different identity documents for foreign nationals, with no postal delivery option; foreign nationals must use smartphone NFC or apply in-store raku-verify
- Rakuten Mobile phone support is in Japanese only; the language switch on the website does not extend to customer service raku-flow raku-proc
- Rakuten Mobile cancellation within one year of line activation incurs a fee of up to ¥1,078 (tax inclusive); the fee drops to ¥0 after the one-year mark raku-commission
What we couldn't
- We could not find an official statement confirming the specific minimum usage period in months for Sakura Mobile. The terms of service state "minimum usage specified by each plan" without naming a number. We did not infer a number from this language.
- We could not find an official statement confirming physical SIM delivery times within Japan for Sakura Mobile. Arrange pickup at the office or airport if timing is critical.
- We could not find an official statement confirming whether a Japanese phone number is required at checkout for Sakura Mobile.
- We could not find an official statement confirming whether internationally issued credit cards are accepted by IIJmio. The English foreigner page states that a credit card is required but does not specify whether cards issued outside Japan are accepted. Confirm with IIJmio before applying.
- We could not find an official statement confirming IIJmio's standard prices after the campaign ends November 4, 2026. The campaign prices are valid only through that date; the 12-month projection in this article uses campaign pricing throughout.
- We could not find an official statement confirming the time from application to activation for IIJmio.
- We could not find an official statement confirming whether internationally issued credit or debit cards are accepted by Rakuten Mobile. The payment page states multiple card types are accepted without specifying international cards.
- We could not find an official statement confirming the time from application to activation for Rakuten Mobile.
- We could not find an official statement confirming what happens to any of these three contracts when a residence card expires. Contact each carrier directly before your card expires.
- We could not find an official statement confirming whether applicants with short remaining residence periods (e.g., under six months) are accepted by any carrier. No carrier listed a minimum remaining residency requirement, but the absence of a published restriction should not be taken as confirmation that none exists. Confirm with the carrier if your residence card has a short validity window.
Sources
- sakuramobile.jp/monthly/. Verified 2026-08-31. English-language application; "Full English Support" stated. Tethering and data rollover available on all plans. ↩
- sakuramobile.jp/monthly/price/. Verified 2026-08-31. All prices tax inclusive. Voice+Data plans: 5 GB ¥3,278, 15 GB ¥3,828, 30 GB ¥4,378. Data-only plans: 5 GB ¥2,728, 15 GB ¥3,278, 30 GB ¥3,828. Activation fee ¥5,500. Student discount ¥1,100 off activation (code "studentdiscount"). Domestic calls ¥16.5/30 sec; international from ¥34.1/30 sec; Sakura Dial international from ¥16.5/30 sec (prefix 0077-502-010). Network: NTT Docomo 5G/4G. ↩
- sakuramobile.jp/info/terms/service/. Verified 2026-08-31. "The original version of this Agreement is in the English language." ↩
- sakuramobile.jp/info/payment/. Verified 2026-08-31. Accepted cards: Visa, Mastercard, Discover, JCB, American Express, Diners Club; international cards accepted ("most credit and debit cards, including international ones"; approval subject to issuing bank). Smart Pit at Lawson, FamilyMart, MiniStop; payment window 1st–10th each month; Voice+Data deposit ¥20,000; Data-only/Pocket WiFi deposit = 2 months of monthly fee; late fee ¥500. No bank account required. ↩
- support.sakuramobile.jp/hc/en-us/articles/360020269612. Verified 2026-08-31. Accepted documents: passport; residence card; special permanent resident certificate; Japanese driver's license; driving history certificate; My Number Card; health insurance card; utility bill + passport combination; MOFA-issued identity certificate. Name must match contract; document must be valid; photo must be clear. ↩
- support.sakuramobile.jp/hc/en-us/articles/360020534531. Verified 2026-08-31. Cancellation by 25th → service ends last day of that month. Cancellation on 26th or later → service ends last day of following month. Final month billed in full (no daily proration). Final invoice sent the month after service ends (postpaid model). ↩
- sakuramobile.jp/monthly/pickup-return/. Verified 2026-08-31. Office and airport pickup available with advance notice. Affiliated installation offices: application must be completed at least 3 days before pickup. Standard delivery days for physical SIM within Japan: not stated on official page (unconfirmed). ↩
- iijmio.jp/hdc/spec/. Verified 2026-08-31. Japanese-language page. Voice SIM campaign prices (valid through 2026-11-04): 2 GB ¥850, 5 GB ¥950 (up to ¥400/mo off for 3 months), 10 GB ¥1,400, 15 GB ¥1,600, 25 GB ¥2,000 (up to ¥1,100/mo off for 6 months; data increased to 30 GB during campaign), 35 GB ¥2,400, 45 GB ¥3,300, 55 GB ¥3,900. Family discount: −¥100/line for 2+ lines. Data eSIM (Type D / docomo only) standard prices: 2 GB ¥440, 5 GB ¥650, 10 GB ¥1,050, 15 GB ¥1,320, 25 GB ¥1,650, 35 GB ¥2,240, 45 GB ¥2,940, 55 GB ¥3,540. Initial fee ¥3,300 (data eSIM: halved during campaign). SIM issuance fee: Type D ¥433.40, Type A ¥446.60. Data eSIM SIM profile fee ¥220. Cancellation adjustment fee ¥0. First-month billing: prorated from activation date. Cancellation month: full month charged (no proration). Japanese-language footnote only. Minimum period: end of starting month. Under-18: voice SIM/eSIM not available. ↩
- iijmio.jp/member/cancellation/. Verified 2026-08-31. Japanese-language page. Cooling-off (初期契約解除) period: 8 days from contract notification. Scope: Gigaplan voice SIM, voice eSIM, SMS SIM with voice. Waived under cooling-off: cancellation adjustment fee; SIM card issuance fee. Not waived: initial package fee (¥3,300); monthly service charge for usage period; voice call charges. Application method: online (mioID) or written request (phone to request form). ↩
- iijmio.jp/hdc/visitors/en/. Verified 2026-08-31. English foreigner page. Required for voice SIM/eSIM: residence card or equivalent ID, credit card (applicant's name), Japan address and phone number. Data SIM: no ID required. Support: Japanese, English (X @IIJmio), Chinese. Terms available in Japanese only ("Terms and Conditions of IIJmio's Services (only in Japanese)"). Foreign-issued credit card: not stated. ↩
- network.mobile.rakuten.co.jp/fee/saikyo-plan/. Verified 2026-08-31. Japanese-language page. Saikyo Plan tiers: ≤3 GB ¥1,078 (family discount ¥968); 3–20 GB ¥2,178 (family discount ¥2,068); >20 GB ¥3,278 (family discount ¥3,168). Contract fee: ¥0 up to 4 lines; ¥3,850 from 5th line. Unlimited domestic calls via Rakuten Link app; 0570 numbers excluded. OS dialer: ¥22/30 sec. International roaming: 2 GB/month included, 100+ countries. Speed controls may apply during congestion. ↩
- network.mobile.rakuten.co.jp/guide/verify/. Verified 2026-08-31. Japanese-language page. Foreign nationals require different identity documents. Accepted: residence card (both sides; valid, with address, clear photo); special permanent resident certificate (both sides). Postal delivery verification: not available for foreign nationals. Verification: smartphone NFC or in-store only. Residence cards issued on or after June 14, 2026 (specific type): smartphone NFC not available; in-store only. ↩
- network.mobile.rakuten.co.jp/guide/flow/. Verified 2026-08-31. Japanese-language page. Phone inquiries: Japanese only ("お問い合わせは日本語でのみ対応いたします"). ↩
- network.mobile.rakuten.co.jp/guide/procedure/. Verified 2026-08-31. "Certain features or messages (including customer services) may not be available in the selected language." ↩
- network.mobile.rakuten.co.jp/guide/payment/. Verified 2026-08-31. Payment options: credit card; debit card (Rakuten Bank debit and select others); bank transfer; Rakuten Points; Rakuten Pay balance. Foreign-issued card: not confirmed. ↩
- network.mobile.rakuten.co.jp/guide/commission/. Verified 2026-08-31. Japanese-language page. Administrative fee for cancellation within 1 year of line activation date: stated as a maximum of ¥980 before tax (¥1,078 tax inclusive), equal to one month of the lowest tier. After 1 year: ¥0. Start date: line activation date; plan changes do not reset the clock. Exceptions: cooling-off cancellation and unavoidable circumstances. ↩
- network.mobile.rakuten.co.jp/guide/cancellation/. Verified 2026-08-31. Japanese-language page. Cancellation month billing: determined by actual data use within the month, at standard tiered rates. Not prorated by day ("日割りでのご請求ではありません"). ↩
- network.mobile.rakuten.co.jp/terms/rakuten_mobile_important_explanation/. Verified 2026-08-31. Japanese-language page. Cooling-off (初期契約解除制度): 8 days from contract start date (start date = day one). For electronic delivery: service provision start date. Written application required; details in contract notification. Waived: administrative cancellation fee (¥1,078). Not waived: data usage charges, call charges, device costs incurred before cancellation date. ↩